Le Chalard, église de l'Assomption
Home ⚙️ Industrial Heritage Le Chalard, église de l'Assomption
📍 Le Chalard

Le Chalard, église de l'Assomption

Only the transept and choir remain from the original church, the nave having been destroyed during the Hundred Years' War. Romanesque in architecture, it retains a few sculpted capitals. It houses the tomb of Saint Geoffrey, covered by a Gothic-style wooden sideboard, the Saint's hunt and several objects (statues, paintings). It has been listed as a historic monument since 1910.

The Cimetière des Moines (Monks' Cemetery), a unique collection of tombs dating from the 12th and 15th centuries, is located at the head of the church. Some of them feature symbols representing the activities of the deceased: the tomb of the prior, the weaver, the blacksmith, etc.


Spoken languages
Français